Linda Lay Staff Photo
Education

                I have a Bachelor's degree in Special Education from The University of South Alabama, with specialized training in the areas of mental retardation, learning disabilities, and multiple handicaps; I also have two Master's Degrees: one from The University of Alabama, with specialized training in mental retardation, learning disabilities, and behavior disorders, and the second one is from The University of West Alabama in Library Media. I am a Highly Qualified Teacher in the state of Alabama.

Additional Certifications: AMSTI & ARI.



Experience

   I have been teaching special education since 1994, and absolutely love it. Prior to coming to Horizon in 2006, I was employed with Huntsville City Schools where I taught middle school special education for 4 years, and elementary special education for 8 years.

When teaching middle school, I taught grades 6-8 in a self-contained classroom; Exceptionalities included autism, mental retardation, Tourette's Syndrome, behavior disorders, and learning disabilities.

When teaching elementary school in Huntsville, I worked with grades 3-5 in both an inclusive and resource setting as well as self-contained; Exceptionalities included autism, mental retardation, Down's Syndrome, learning disabilities, visually impaired, and behavior disorders.

I have been at Horizon Elementary School since 2006 and have worked with grades K-5, but presently work with K-3; Exceptionalities included autism, learning disabilities, behavior disorders, and other health impairments.



Bio
 I am a Huntsville "native!" I was born and raised in Huntsville and am an only child. With the exception of college, I have lived here my whole life. I traveled overseas a few years back with our church choir on a mission tour; we saw London, Scotland and Wales. It was breath-taking!

I have a beautiful family and proudly count them as one of my biggest blessings in life! I have been happily married since 1998; we have a beautiful daughter and spoiled rotten dog. In my "spare time" I enjoy sharing time with my family & friends, singing in the church choir, cooking and baking, reading, gardening, riding my bicycle, hiking, swimming, and doing anything outside.